Contact & Support

Alberto Diaspro Comments on Receiving the Emily M. Gray Award 2014

Alberto Diaspro, Director of the Department of Nanophysics at the Italian Institute of Technology (IIT), has received the Emily M. Gray Award 2014 for dedicating his career to mentoring students and serving as the major force in organizing international biophysics workshops that showcase the talent of young researchers. The Biophysical Society ( yearly rewards scientists who particularly stood out for their contributions to education in biophysics. In this brief video he comments on what it was like to receive the Award and on his contributions to education and mentorship in biophysics.


Topics & Tags

Table of Content

YouTube video by Leica Microsystems, July, 2014

Established in 1997, the Emily M. Gray Award is given for significant contributions to education in biophysics, contributions that may include a distinguished record of excellence in classroom instruction, in mentoring research scientists at any level, in developing novel educational methods or materials, in promoting scientific outreach efforts to the public or to youth, in generating a track record of attracting new students to the field of biophysics, or in otherwise fostering an environment exceptionally conducive to education in biophysics.